Home Page


"Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up". - Galatians 6:9


In 2016 we formed a new Local Governing Body as part of the transition to joining the West Somerset Academies Trust. The West Somerset Academies Trust comprises of one Board of Trustees. Each school has their own Local Governing Body. The governors act as a "critical friend" to the school, monitoring and overseeing the smooth running of the school and supporting and listening to staff and parents. In September 2020 we joined forces with St Michael's C of E First School LGB. In December 2021 we changed the name to Local School Councillors and Old Cleeve and St Michael's formed their own boards.



Please click here for further information on the WSAT 


Chair -  Duncan Cooper 

Vice -    Richard Higgins  


Old Cleeve Local School Council:

Mrs Emma Murch - Interim Headteacher Old Cleeve

Ms Carole (Mag) Hatton - Foundation                                     18/12/21 - 17/12/25

Mr Duncan Cooper - Parent Elected H&S                                 13/07/18 - 12/07/22

Rev Richard Higgins - Ex Officio Foundation                             30/06/20 - 30/6/24

Mrs Jane Bellamy - Link Trustee                                             12/05/21 - 11/05/25

Miss Sam Horn - Staff Elected                                                11/05/21 - 10/05/25                                    


Mrs Maida White - WSAT Board Elected Governor

01/05/2016 - resigned 28/06/18

Mrs Elizabeth White - Foundation Governor/ Safeguarding Governor

10/05/2016 - resigned 09/01/2019 

Mrs Vicky Brown - community governor/Safeguarding Governor 

Resigned 03/04.2020 

Miss Sophie Cobb - Parent Elected Governor/ SEN Governor

30/11/18 - resigned 07/07/20

Ingo Gasperini - Parent governor 

resigned 27/11/20

Mr Stephane Millar - Parent Elected Governor 

resigned 01/02/21

Mr Keith Hunt - Associate Member/ EYFS 

30/04/2020 - **resigned 13/01/21

Mrs Sonia Watters - Board Appointed

04/07/20 - **resigned 30/6/21

Jane Bellamy (Link Trustee)

Jane was appointed as a foundation governor at St Michael's in January 2019. Jane was the headteacher of a C of E primary school near Milton Keynes for 15 years & also acted as Head of the Virtual School for children in the care of the local authority.

She moved to this area following her retirement & is delighted to be able to be part of St Michael’s School. Jane is keen to ensure that the Christian ethos of the school is upheld.

Mag Hatton - Foundation Governor - first appointed in 2017. 



Duncan Cooper - Parent Governor 

As a parent of two children at the school, I am impressed by the dedication and enthusiasm of the staff at Old Cleeve. I become a parent governor as I wanted to play an active role in the continued improvement of Old Cleeve in providing both a great education and a sense of social responsibility in all pupils. I am currently involved as the H&S Governor and take this role very seriously as the safety of both our children and staff are critical.

I have been in Catering and Leisure for over 20 years and have 16 year military experience both Regular and Reserve Army. I am currently the South West of England's Operations Manager for a large Catering provider in schools so feel well suited to my H&S and Food safety role at Old Cleeve.  



All Governors have declared their business interests and these are recorded on the Trust’s Register of Business Interests.  At Governors’ meetings, if a potential conflict of interest arises, the relevant Governor withdraws from the discussion.

x - Apologies received

n- Not attending

Y - present

Old Cleeve/St Michael's  Attendance at LSC meetings 2021-22

 AttendedOut of a possible 
Rob Lakin (CEO)11
Emma Murch (Head)11
Simon Robinson - CHAIR to 12/2101
Carole (Mag) Hatton11
Duncan Copper -Chair from 01/2211
Richard Higgins11
Jane Bellamy  (link Trustee) 11
Carole Pearse11
Harry Singer01
Sam Horn 11

Old Cleeve/St Michael's LGB Attendance at Governors Meetings 2020-21

Simon Robinson - CHAIR YYYXY
Carole (Mag) HattonYYYXX
Duncan CopperYYYYX
Stephane Millar * resigned 02.21YX///
Keith Hunt * resigned 01.21XX///
Janine Donovan (Head)YYYYY
Paul Rushforth (CEO)YYYYX
Richard HigginsYYYYX
Jane BellamyYXYYY
Ingo Gasperini * resigned 11/20N////
Carole PearseXYYYY
Sonia WattersXXXN/
Harry Singer//YYY
Sam Horn ////X
Karen Mills Bown - invited YYYYY
Charlotte Taylor - invited YYY//

Attendance at Governors Meetings 2019-20

  01/10/19 03/12/19 05/02/20 19/05/20 30/06/20
Vicky Browne - CHAIR  X Y Y / /
Carole (Mag) Hatton Y Y Y Y Y
Duncan Copper X Y Y X Y
Stephane Millar Y Y Y Y Y
Keith Hunt Y Y N Y X
Dan Perry (Head) Y Y Y / /
Paul Rushforth (CEO) X X X Y Y
Sophie Cobb  X X X X N * resigned 
Janine Donovan (Head)  / / / Y X

Attendance at Governors Meetings 2018-19

  02/10/18 03/12/18 12/02/19 14/05/19 02/07/19
Liz White


ü / / /
Vicky Browne - CHAIR  x ü ü ü ü
Carole (Mag) Hatton


ü ü ü ü
Duncan Copper


x ü x ü
Stephane Millar


ü ü ü ü
Keith Hunt


ü ü ü ü
Dan Perry (Head) / / ü ü ü
Paul Rushforth (CEO)


ü x x X
Sophie Cobb  n/a ü ü x X


If you want to contact the Governors please phone or email the Clerk :

Mrs Helen Hatfield on 01984 632581